top of page
New Covenant Logo Circle_Dark Icon.png

Our Leadership

Rev. Daniel Morales
Pastoral Leadership/Moderator 

Rev. Morales has been serving as New Covenant’s supply pastor since 2018. A former banker, Danny graduated from McCormick Theological Seminary where he obtained as Master of Divinity in 2015. A Miami native and son of Cuban immigrants, Danny is also a product of our community, having been educated in the nearby Allapattah neighborhood public schools and receiving his Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies from Florida International University.


Prior to his ministry at New Covenant, Danny served as Director of University Ministries at Riviera Presbyterian Church. In addition to serving the local church, Danny serves the broader denomination as an active member of the Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Relations of the Office of the General Assembly. Rev. Morales was elected as Moderator Elect of the Presbytery of Tropical Florida in November 2022.


Rev. Morales also works as a Hospice Chaplain for VITAS Healthcare.

Session Membership

The Session is the governing board of the Church and is made up of elders in active service. The Session strives in word and deed to achieve the mission of the Church. The supply pastor is the Moderator of the Session, which generally holds regular meetings on the second Tuesday of each month, except for certain summer months.

profile pic.png
Adrian Alexander-McKight

Adrian Alexander-Mcknight is a graduate of the University of Florida where she received a Bachelor’s Degree in Speech and Communications. She obtained a Master’s Degree in Elementary Education and Speech and Language Pathology, respectively, from Nova Southeastern University. Adrian currently works in the Miami-Dade County Public School System as a Placement Specialist in the Office of Compliance. Adrian has been a member of New Covenant Presbyterian Church for fifty years. She is an Elder and has served on nearly all the committees within the church. She is a member of numerous civic organizations. However, most of her community service activities are with The Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., in which she is a Diamond Life member.

Cynthia Johnson-Stacks

Cynthia Johnson-Stacks is a long-time member of New Covenant, having joined the Church in the mid-80s. A Presbyterian since childhood, Cynthia has served the Church, the Presbytery of Tropical Florida, and the Synod of the South Atlantic in a variety of roles, including as an elder, church musician, choir member, administrative committee chairperson, and a member of a permanent judicial commission. Currently, Cynthia is the Clerk of Session for New Covenant.  

Lacee Sullivan-Spain

Lacee became a member of New Covenant when she was in the third grade. A devoted member of the Sunbeams—which was the Church's organization for young children, Lacee started her path of servant leadership which set the pattern for her current leadership of Mission/Shepherd Group committees of the Church and her service as an elder. Educated in neighborhood schools, Lacee is a graduate of William H. Turner TechnicalHigh School. She subsequently earned an Associate of Arts in Mortuary Sciences at Miami-Dade College and currently serves as an educational professional teaching children in Miami-Dade's Head Start program.

Drabina Washington

Drabina Dunn Washington is the daughter of charter members, the late Mr. & Mrs. Richard Paul Dunn, I. She has been affiliated with New Covenant Presbyterian Church since that time. Drabina is a member of the choir, has served as a Vacation Bible School teacher and elder, and has served on various committees at the church throughout the years. Drabina earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Bethune-Cookman University and a Master of Science in Elementary Education from Florida Memorial University. She retired in 2020 after serving Miami-Dade County Public Schools for 32 years as an elementary school teacher. Drabina is married to Marshall, Sr. and they are the parents of one son, Marshall, Jr.

New Covenant Logo_Light Icon_background-01_edited.png
Paula Newkirk

Paula Newkirk is a longtime member of the New Covenant Presbyterian Church. She is a current elder serving on the Session.

Session Committees

The Session has organized itself into four committees, which also include membership and leadership from members of the congregation:

Finance Committee


This committee oversees the prudent use of congregational talents and resources. It also is responsible for preparation, monitoring, and reporting of the Church’s budget. The committee works with leaders and committees to determine the Church’s fiscal needs and expenses and solicits and monitors the receipt of annual pledges from Church members. It also oversees collections and payment of bills and associated recordkeeping.

Worship & Christian Education


This committee is responsible for coordination of all activities related to the worship experiences of the congregation, as well as the design, support, and oversight of the various educational activities of the congregation. Specific activities include planning worship services, interfacing with the musicians, provision of communion, including communion for shut-ins, and Bible studies and special studies throughout the year.

Mission & Shepherd Group


This committee assists the congregation in its outreach efforts which seek to embody the love of God, spread the good news of the gospel, and encourage and empower people within the Church and on a local, regional and national level.  

Building and Grounds


This committee helps to carry out regular maintenance and cleaning of the Church facilities and assists in carrying out any of the Church’s capital projects. This committee may be asked to participate in reviewing proposals for future facility uses and is also responsible for the prospering community garden.

Other Areas of Service

Many members continue to be involved by serving on various community and church-related boards, committees, and organizations, at local, state, and national levels. The late church member Eugeni B. Thomas had the distinction of having an elementary school named in her honor in the Doral area of Miami. Geraldine K. Owens is a long-time leader in the neighborhood Curry Taylor Home Ownership Association.


Numerous members have served and continue to serve in various aspects of the church: the Synod; General Assembly; Presbytery and the Session. The late Richard Paul Dunn and Helen Hardie Smith, became Moderators of the Everglades Presbytery and Tropical Florida Presbytery, respectively. Also, as a result of the nurture and inspiration, the following former members answered the call to study and prepare for the ministry; Stuart Smith, Ernestine Cole, the late Sandra Edwards, Richard Paul Dunn, II, Vickie Powell-Williams,  Rodney Pinder, Girlean Tinsley, Dewey Wilkerson, Jr., and Dwayne Richardson. 

bottom of page